## Minutes for Department Convention June 20-22, 2014 held in Fallon, Nevada Amended June 22nd

## Saturday, June 21, 2014 - Meeting began at 9:10am

President Glynis opened the morning session with the Pledge of Allegiance and a prayer from acting Chaplain, Judy Cobb.

Courtenay Burns made the motion to only call units that weren't present yesterday to only call for them once. Bethany Miner seconded. Motion passed without objection.

Roll call was taken, there were no changes to Units present from the Friday session.

Minutes from yesterday's session were read. Irma Manor moved to accept the minutes as read. Jeri Karwacki seconded. Motion passed without objection.

The reading of the Credentials and Election Rules were read. A reading and working through the credentials was done for those units and officers present. There were 116 votes able to be cast for those units and officers present.

Reports were given throughout the schedule. A full list of reports is given further in the minutes.

A presentation was made by 2nd Vice President Bethany Miner, Historian Courtenay Burns, and Secretary/Treasurer Daela Gibson on the Department Leadership National Convention.

A report from the Credentials and Election Committee was given.

A recess was then taken for units to caucus for nominations of officers.

Nominations for officers were made. Daela Gibson made a motion to dispense with nominations from the floor. Dorothy Dutter seconded the motion. Motion passed without objection.

The officers nominated were:

President:

Bethany Miner Unit 8 Maria Moss Unit 14

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President: Gan Vance Unit 8

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President: Courtenay Burns Unit 1 Secretary/Treasurer: Daela Gibson Unit 1 Historian: Sheila Beery-Burggraff Unit 18 Chaplain: Jeri Karwacki Unit 8 Sgt at Arms: Nancy Michalski Unit 40

Due to the election process we have, at the close of nominations those offices that are unopposed are automatically elected to those positions. A complete list of elected officers will be reported with the results of the elections to be held on Sunday morning, which will be recorded in the minutes for that day.

## The following reports were given throughout the day's business:

Public Relations - Judy Cobb AEF - Hazel Lockhart-Breeding VA&R - Ellen Wolfe VAVS North - Ellen Wolfe VAVS South - Nancy Michalski Finance Report - Gan Vance Secretary - Daela Gibson Membership - Courtenay Burns

Recessed for the evening at 15:30.

Submitted electronically by Daela Gibson, Department Secretary/Treasurer.