## Minutes for Department Convention June 20-22, 2014 held in Fallon, Nevada

### Friday, June 20, 2014 - Meeting began 14.01

President Glynis Seeley opened the meeting. President Glynis invited Unit 16 President LaRae Sibley up to the podium to give information on the various events surrounding convention.

The Elections and Credentials committee appointed during the pre-Convention DEC was presented. The members are: Chair: Nancy Michalski, Members: Betty Sherwood, Pat Salmen, and Debbie Logue. There were no objections to the appointments.

A roll call of officers and units were taken at the beginning of convention.

# 2013-2014 American Legion Auxiliary, Department of Nevada Officers Present:

President: Glynis Seeley 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-President: Gan Vance 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-President: Bethany Miner Secretary/Treasurer: Daela Gibson

Historian: Courtenay Burns Sgt. of Arms: Judy Cobb

National Executive Committeewoman: Pat Salmen

Alternate National Executive Committeewoman: Nancy Michalski

District 4 President - Betty Sherwood

### The 10 Units present were:

Unit 1, Unit 5, Unit 8, Unit 14, Unit 16, Unit 18, Unit 37, Unit 40, Unit 56, Unit 60

There were no resolutions presented to the Constitution & Bylaws committee.

#### The following reports were reports were given:

National Executive Committeewoman Pat Salmen

**Convention Rules** 

Department President Glynis Seeley

Department 1st Vice Gan Vance

Department 2nd Vice Bethany Miner

Sgt of Arms Judy Cobb

Department Historian Courtenay Burns - Unit 18 selected as Unit of the Year for Nevada and Unit 14 as Junior Unit of the Year. The Department President was presented with the History scrapbook made just for her.

Girls State - Courtenay Burns

District 4 President Betty Sherwood

Children & Youth - Carol Lambert

Liaison Child Welfare Foundation - Carol Lambert

Leadership - Nancy Michalski

National Security - Pat Salmen

Community Service - Bethany Miner

Recess taken for the night at 3:48pm. Will reconvene Saturday morning 9:00am.

Submitted electronically by Daela Gibson, Department Secretary/Treasurer.