## Minutes for Department Convention June 21-23, 2013 held in Laughlin, Nevada

## Saturday, June 22, 2013 - Meeting began at 9:10am

Minutes from yesterday's session were read and approved with one amendment.

Work continued on changes to the Constitution, Bylaws, and Standing Rules. Unless otherwise noted, motions that passed, passed unanimously.

**Bylaws #6 - Defines more duties for Secretary/Treasurer** - Ellen Wolfe moved to pass the amendment. Jeri Karwacki seconded. Motion passed.

**Bylaws #11 - Specifies the duties of the NEC -** Gan Vance moved to pass the amendment. Joanne Bretz seconded. Motion passed.

**Bylaws #13 - Establishes an audit committee** - An amendment was made to change the word "Auxiliary's" to the word "Department's". Judith Brown moved to accept the amendment. Carol Lambert seconded. Motion passed.

Nancy Michalski moved to accept the amended amendment. Joanne Bretz seconded. Motion passed.

**Bylaws #15 - Clarifies appointments to and duties of the Finance Committee -** Gan Vance moved to accept the amendment. Glynis Seeley seconded. Motion passed.

Bylaws #18 - Suggests Unit IRS Filing and Defines Department HQ Unit 100 - Ellen Wolfe moved to accept the amendment. Jeri Karwacki seconded. Motion passed.

**Bylaws #19 - Outlines the Unit Constitution & Bylaws requirements -** Nancy Michalski moved to accept the amendment. Myrtle Kellar seconded. Motion passed.

Bylaws #24 - Concerns presentation of PDP and Past Department Secretary/Treasurer pins Joanne Bretz moved to accept the amendment. Gan Vance seconded. Motion passed.

Resolution #5 - Clarifies various Department roles including Department issues, Dues of the Department HQ Unit 100, and announces limitations of Post involvement in an Auxiliary Unit - An amendment to the amendment to change "\$1.50" to "\$2.25" by Daela Gibson. Joanne Bretz seconded. Amendment passed.

Daela Gibson moved to accept the amendment as amended. Gan Vance seconded. Motion passed.

**Resolution #6 - Concerns the handling of Unit issues** - Julie Robison moved to change "request or demand" to "have access". Maria Moss seconded the amendment. Amendment passed.

Gan Vance moved to accept the amendment as amended. Joanne Bretz seconded. Motion passed.

**Resolution #7 - Concerns the Constitution & Bylaws Committee** - Gan Vance moved to accept the amendment. Joanne Bretz seconded. Motion passed.

Reports were given throughout the schedule. A full list of reports is given further in the minutes.

A reading of the **credentials** for each unit was given.

The Department President announced which members had submitted letters of intent and for which office. A recess was then taken for units to caucus for nominations of officers.

Nominations for officers were made. The officers nominated were:

President: Historian:

Glynis Seeley Unit 8 Courtenay Burns Unit 1

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President: Chaplain:

Gan Vance Unit 75 Linda Smith Unit 22

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President: Sgt at Arms:

Bethany Miner Unit 8 Judy Cobb Unit 14

Maria Moss Unit 14 National Executive Committeewoman:

Secretary/Treasurer: Pat Salmen Unit 18

As this was the first time in recent history that the President is immediately repeating the office of Department President, that means, as stated in our bylaws, we needed to elect our NEC. When nominations were open, nominations were called for the position of NEC. After the close of nominations Agnes Williams asked if we should accept **nominations for Alternate NEC**, as well. Nominations were re-opened for that position only. The only nomination for that position was:

Alternate National Executive Committeewoman:

Nancy Michalski Unit 40

Daela Gibson Unit 1

Due to the election process we have, at the close of nominations those offices that are unopposed are automatically elected to those positions. A **complete list of elected officers will be reported** with the results of the elections to be held on Sunday morning, which will be recorded in the minutes for that day.

## The following reports were given throughout the day's business:

Girls State - Courtenay Burns

Americanism - Daela Gibson

Secretary - Daela Gibson

Children & Youth - Gan Vance

Community Service - Irma Manor sent in, ready by Glynis Seeley

Education - Jo Cieslar

Junior Activities - Judy Cobb

Leadership - Sheila Venner sent in, read by Nancy Michalski

Legislative - Nancy Michalski

Poppy - Jeannie Belingheri

Public Relations - Glynis Seeley (oral report given)

Membership - Courtenay Burns

Past President's Parlay - Betty Sherwood

VA&R - Ellen Wolfe

VAVS North - Ellen Wolfe

VAVS South - Sheila Venner sent in, read by Nancy Michalski

Campaign speeches were given by the candidates for the office of Department 2nd Vice President.

Recessed for the evening at 16.11.

Submitted electronically by Daela Gibson, Department Secretary/Treasurer.