Minutes for Department Convention June 21-23, 2013 held in Laughlin, Nevada

Friday, June 21, 2013 - Meeting began 14.14

President Glynis Seeley opened the meeting with the Department Chaplain, Judy Cobb, who gave a prayer and a memorial service for those members who passed away this last year. The POW/MIA chair was presented. Call to Convention/Rules of Convention were read.

The Elections and Credentials committee appointed during the pre-Convention DEC was presented. The members are: Chair: Nancy Michalski, Members: Betty Sherwood, Ellen Wolfe, and Amanda Larkin. There were no objections to the appointments.

A roll call of officers and units were taken at the beginning of convention.

2012-2013 American Legion Auxiliary, Department of Nevada Officers Present:

President: Glynis Seeley

1st Vice-President: Jeannie Belingheri

2nd Vice-President: Gan Vance Secretary/Treasurer: Daela Gibson

Historian: Agnes Williams Chaplain: Judy Cobb Sgt. of Arms: Linda Smith

Alternate National Executive Committeewoman: Betty Sherwood

Since National Executive Committeewoman Anita Paquette is absent Betty Sherwood was recognized as the National Executive Committeewoman in place of Anita Paquette.

The 12 Units present were:

Unit 1, Unit 5, Unit 8, Unit 14, Unit 18, Unit 22, Unit 37, Unit 40, Unit 56, Unit 60, Unit 75, Unit 149

A call was made for units to present **Constitution**, **Bylaws**, and **Standing Rules changes** they wanted to discuss.

Here are the ones presented for discussion:

Constitution #1 - Combining the position of Secretary/Treasurer

Constitution #2 - Adding PDP to DEC

Constitution & Bylaws #1 - Deletes redundant language for Secretary/Treasurer

Bylaws #2 - Clarifies duties and selection of the NEC

Bylaws #4 - Filling vacancies on the DEC

Bylaws #6 - Defines more duties for Secretary/Treasurer

Bylaws #11 - Specifies the duties of the NEC

Bylaws #13 - Establishes an audit committee

Bylaws #15 - Clarifies appointments to and duties of the Finance Committee

Bylaws #18 - Suggests Unit IRS Filing and Defines Department HQ Unit 100

Bylaws #19 - Outlines the Unit Constitution & Bylaws requirements

Bylaws #24 - Concerns presentation of PDP and Past Department Secretary/Treasurer pins

Resolution #5 - Clarifies various Department roles including Department issues, Dues of the Department HQ Unit

100, and announces limitations of Post involvement in an Auxiliary Unit

Resolution #6 - Concerns the handling of Unit issues

Resolution #7 - Concerns the Constitution & Bylaws Committee

Resolution #10 - Concerning poppy funds was pulled for reworking due to changes made on the National American Legion Auxiliary level.

A motion was made by Daela Gibson - Unit 1 (seconded by Nancy Michalski - Unit 40) that those not chosen were passed by the **Consent Agenda**.

Since these proposed changes were sent out to units more than 20 days before Convention these changes can be read and voted on immediately instead of needing an amount of time between the reading of the proposed change and the voting on that change. The proposed changes were scheduled to be discussed later in the agenda.

The following reports were reports were given:

Department President Glynis Seeley

Department 2nd Vice Gan Vance

Chaplain Judy Cobb

Department Sgt. at Arms Linda Smith gave a verbal report stating that everyone in room is eligible to be there and the meeting is going well so far.

Department Historian Agnes Williams - Unit 18 selected as Unit of the Year for Nevada

District 2 President Julie Robison

District 4 President Pat Salmen

Minutes from the 2012 Convention were read. No changes were proposed.

Moved to accept made by Pat Salmen. Nancy Michalski Seconded. Motion passed.

Constitution, Bylaws, and Standing Rules discussion began.

Constitution #1 - Combine Secretary/Treasurer - Discussion occurred. Ellen Wolfe made the motion and asked for the vote. Gan Vance 2nd. A voice vote was taken and a member then called for a division of the house. The vote was retaken by a show of hands. There were 23 For, 9 Opposed, 0 Abstensions. Motion passed.

Constitution #2 - Adding PDP to DEC - Amendment moved by Nancy Michalski to add the Finance Officer to the DEC as a non-voting member. Seconded by Betty Sherwood. Motion passed.

Motion made to approve amendment as amended by Nancy Michalski to add PDP to DEC as non-voting members. Seconded by Joanne Bretz. Motion passed.

Constitution & Bylaws #1 - Deletes redundant language for Secretary/Treasurer. Joanne Bretz moved to accept the amendment. Nancy Michalski Seconded. Motion passed.

Bylaws #2 - Clarifies duties and selection of the NEC. Gan Vance moved to accept the amendment. Jeri Karwacki seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Bylaws #4 - Filling vacancies on the DEC. Joanne Bretz moved to amend the amendment to remove the language of "meeting". Nancy Michalski seconded. Motion passed. Gan Vance moved to accept the amendment as amended. Joanne Bretz seconded. Motion passed

Recess taken for the night at 6:00pm. Will reconvene Saturday morning 9:00am.

Submitted electronically by Daela Gibson, Department Secretary/Treasurer.